inner image


 A characteristic element of the new fortified enclosure was the bastions that were 7 in all, from east to west: the bastion of Sabbionara (of the sand), of Vitturi, of Jesus, of Martinego, of Bethleem, of Pantocratoras and of St. Andreas. The bastions were joined together with straight lines (parts) and in the place of their joining there were formed two «low squares», lower than the level of the bastion and higher than the ditch. In these open areas there were built special places for the canons that defended the ditch underneath and the opposite bastion. In these "low squares" there existed two openings with galleries (long corridors), one of which was leading into the city and the other in the ditch.

Cookies Policy

Site uses cookies. By going to the content, you consent to their acceptance. Cookies Policy